Uncategorized

Dappled Sunlight

Yesterday, I was walking outside right after a rain storm. If it were any other day I would have been in my car, listening to talk radio and not paying attention to anything but the road, probobly conducting a sing along with Ingred Michealson or Regina Specktor. Irrevelevant circumstances had me frustrated and walking. The storm had just passed and the sun was shining brightly, the sky was blue again, and this street I was walking down was a perfect suburban street with a bridge over a stream, ivy growing every where, and greenery so lush it made me think to myself, “where have I been for the last 2 months that I missed spring”?

It was the way the sun was shining so bright, like for it’s first time. The air smelled so fresh like someone had just cleaned it, and it felt like all the bad juju had been sucked right out of the moment. It was as if the universe was telling me, hey you, slow down a bit and see the beauty in your life, just because you’re walking right now it is not the end of the world.

As I get older and I find life is throwing me a curve ball, these little instances pop up and I realize it’s time to “stop and smell the roses”. Life’s challenges are what make us who we are, and accepting that is the biggest victory of all.

Leave a Reply

